43. Karl-Heinz Rummenigge

Karl-Heinz Rummenigge
Karl-Heinz Rummenigge

Full nameKarl-Heinz Rummenigge
Date of birth25 September 19755
Place of birthLippstadt, West Germany
Karl-Heinz Rummenigge played for Bayern Munich for 10 years, representing the team’s domination of German football as had Beckenbauer before him and as did Matthäus just after.

Rummenigge won the Champions League in 1974-75 and 1975-76 and the Bundesliga in seasons 1979-80 and 1980-81, during both of which seasons he finished top scorer of the Championship. He won the European Championship with Germany in 1980.

Thanks to these successes, he won the Ballon d’Or in 1980 and 1981.

Rummenigge scored 162 goals in 310 Bundesliga’s games, making him the second most prolific scorer of all time in Bundesliga behind Gerd Müller.

Rummenigge never won the World Cup but did finish as a losing finalist in 1982 and 1986 – both times as captain of the team.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.